The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

Today we had to choose a book, either “About a Boy” by Nick Hornby or “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” by Sherman Alexie.  I chose to read Sherman Alexie’s book, after watching an interview with him where he tells about his book and his background. I get the expression that Alexie is a very kind and down-to-earth person. His book “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” is based on a lot of his own experiences. Sherman Alexie was like the main character, in the book, born with a brain damage. Or as it says in the first line in the book; “I was born with water on the brain. Okay, so that´s not exactly true. I was actually born with too much cerebral spinal fluid inside my skull. But cerebral spinal fluid is just the doctors`fancy way of saying brain grease.”

Sherman Alexie is a successful writer from the USA. In the interview with Conversations, Sherman Alexie says that he thinks the brain damage made him stronger. He was a little kid with a health problem and tells that he was a freak at the reservations. He tells that he loved reading and that his father was a big reader. After reading the first chapter, I think this will be a fun book to read. Alexis uses a youthful language that is easy to understand.

Nick Hornby, the author of “About a Boy” is an English author. I think it was hard to get an expression of Nick Hornby´s book “About a Boy”. He tells about his other book “Juliet Naked”, so I do not really understand what the other book is about. He still seems like a good writer, and he seems ironic and funny.

I still chose to read  “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian”, and after reading the first chapter I have a really good expression about the book. It is easy to understand and there are humour and funny pictures in the book. I will read the rest of the book in the Eastern Holiday when I am travelling to Cyprus. I am excited to read the rest of the book!

You SUCK!

 

One thought on “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

Leave a Reply

